Accept and Continue

Cookies on this site

This site uses cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy.
Skip to main content


South Milton is a small village in the rural South Hams of Devon. The parish includes the hamlets of Sutton and Upton and it extends to the coast at South Milton Sands. The parish covers 1,556 acres (630 hectares) and adjoins the parishes of South Huish, Thurlestone and West Alvington.

The Parish Council consists of seven Councillors and a part-time clerk. Meetings are held on the fourth Monday of the month (except when Bank Holidays intervene). There are no meetings in August and December.

The Parish Council is the link between the village residents and our County and District Councils.  It considers planning applications in the parish and is responsible for administering the cemetery.

Parish councillors, following the last election on 2nd May 2019 are as follows:

  • Marion Brice 
  • Anne Berryman 
  • Paul Booker - Chairman
  • Graham Collyer
  • Graham Jinks (co-opted July 2020)
  • Emma Halmshaw (co-opted July 2022)
  • Nick Townsend - Vice Chairman (co-opted July 2020)

The Parish Clerk is Katharine Harrod (contact 07704 941150

Our South Hams district councillors are Judy Pearce (contact and Mark Long (contact

Our Devon County Councillor is Rufus Gilbert (contact elected to represent the Thurlestone, Salcombe and Allington ward.